Best MFA Software (2026): Top 10 Compared
Multi-factor authentication (MFA) software asks a user for a second proof of identity, such as a push approval, a one-time code, a passkey or a hardware key, before granting access to an application, device or network. The ten products below fall into four groups. Cisco Duo, Rublon and HYPR are dedicated authentication products that sit in front of existing directories and applications. Okta, Microsoft Entra ID, RSA ID Plus, Thales SafeNet Trusted Access and JumpCloud bundle MFA with single sign-on and wider identity management. Silverfort extends MFA to systems that cannot call an MFA service themselves, such as command-line tools and legacy Active Directory protocols. Yubico sells the hardware security keys that many of the other products accept as a phishing-resistant factor. Eight of the ten publish price figures.
Order is not a ranking. How entries are ordered.
On this page
Compare at a glance
Select a vendor for details and sources. Scroll the table horizontally on smaller screens.
| Vendor | Consider for | Pricing notes | Standout |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cisco Duomid-market | Organisations adding MFA in front of existing directories, VPNs and applications | Free up to 10 users; Essentials $3, Advantage $6, Premier $9 per user a month; 30-day trial Checked Oct 2026 | Proximity check makes Duo MFA phishing-resistant from the Essentials edition |
| Okta Adaptive MFAenterprise | Organisations that want MFA inside one workforce identity suite with SSO | Starter $6 per user a month includes MFA; Essentials $17 adds Adaptive MFA; billed annually, $1,500 annual minimum Checked Oct 2026 | Adaptive policies weigh device posture, network, location and behaviour before prompting |
| Microsoft Entra multifactor authenticationenterprise | Microsoft 365 organisations that want MFA through Conditional Access | Basic MFA in all tenants via security defaults; Entra ID P1 $7, P2 $10 per user a month, paid yearly Checked Oct 2026 | Conditional Access in P1 and risk-based Conditional Access in P2 |
| RSA ID Plusenterprise | Regulated organisations needing MFA across cloud, hybrid and on-premises systems | C1 $3, E1 $5, M1 $6, E2 $7 per user a month; E3 quote-based; free trial Checked Oct 2026 | Hybrid authentication that keeps working during cloud outages, including offline MFA |
| Yubico YubiKeyspecialist | Teams adding phishing-resistant hardware keys to an existing MFA or identity provider | YubiKey 5 NFC $58 a key or $2,900 for 50; Security Key Series from $29; subscription quote-based Checked Oct 2026 | Hardware passkeys sold outright or as a per-user subscription with delivery services |
| Thales SafeNet Trusted Accessenterprise | Enterprises needing many authentication methods, including hardware and software tokens | All-inclusive licence covering tokens, support and cloud RADIUS; no figures published; 30-day free trial Checked Oct 2026 | One licence includes hardware or software tokens, with no separate token charges |
| Silverfortenterprise | Enterprises extending MFA to legacy, command-line and on-premises systems | Quote-based, sized to the organisation; four packages, Universal MFA from Core; Premier support +10%, Diamond +20% Checked Oct 2026 | Agentless MFA for Kerberos, NTLM and LDAP flows without changing servers or apps |
| HYPRspecialist | Workforces moving to passkey-based passwordless MFA across desktops and SSO | Identity Assurance Access $3, Plus $6, Advanced $9 per user a month; customer authentication quote-based Checked Oct 2026 | FIDO Certified passkey MFA from desktop login through SSO, without replacing the IdP |
| Rublon MFAsmb | Small and mid-sized organisations protecting Active Directory, RDP, VPN and web apps | Business $2 per user a month (15-licence minimum); Enterprise $4 (300-licence minimum); free for one user; SMS credits extra Checked Oct 2026 | Lowest published per-user list price on this page, with all features in both paid plans |
| JumpCloudmid-market | IT teams wanting MFA with directory, device management and SSO in one console | MFA a la carte $3 per user a month billed annually or $4 monthly; SSO package with MFA $11 or $13 Checked Oct 2026 | Free JumpCloud Protect app plus MFA for devices, networks and applications from one directory |
These comparisons draw on public product information, not hands-on testing of every tool. Source records identify available references and checks; missing evidence is marked. Buyer fit is an editorial assessment, not a measured performance score. How to use this research.
MFA software adds a second check to sign-in, such as a push approval, a one-time code, a passkey or a hardware key, so that a stolen password alone does not grant access. The market splits between dedicated MFA products that sit in front of existing directories, identity suites that include MFA with single sign-on, tools that extend MFA to legacy and on-premises systems, and hardware key makers whose devices other products accept.
The comparison below covers ten products. Features and pricing come from each vendor’s product, pricing and documentation pages, checked in October 2026. Eight publish price figures. The other two profiles record what each pricing page does state, such as licensing scope, support charges or trial terms. The main differences are which systems each product can protect, which tier includes phishing-resistant methods and how the price scales.
Related pages cover self-service password reset tools, CIAM software and privileged access management solutions.
Vendor details and trade-offs
Cisco Duo is an identity security product whose core is MFA delivered through the Duo Mobile app, passcodes, biometrics, hardware tokens and Duo Push. The product page describes a mix-and-match approach to methods and self-enrolment, so users can register their own devices without help desk involvement.
The four editions build on one another. Free covers up to 10 users. Essentials adds Duo Directory, phishing-resistant MFA, passwordless login, single sign-on and Trusted Endpoints. Advantage adds Cisco Identity Intelligence, session theft protection through Duo Passport, Active Directory Defense and risk-based authentication. Premier adds VPN-less access to private resources and device trust checks tied to endpoint protection.
Duo's adaptive policies can use user role, location, application, network and device health. The vendor cites the City and County of Denver, which it reports rolled out MFA to more than 18,000 users in under three months.
Potential strengths
- A free edition covers up to 10 users, and all four editions show public per-user prices
- Integrations cover legacy Active Directory resources, VPNs, SaaS tools, custom applications and offline devices
Trade-offs
- Risk-based authentication and Active Directory Defense start at the $6 Advantage edition
- VPN-less remote access and complete device trust checks require the $9 Premier edition
- Product reference
- Product documentation
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Per user per month; billing cadence not stated on the pricing page
- Source review: checked Oct 25, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Okta sells MFA as part of its Workforce Identity platform rather than as a standalone product. Every suite on the pricing page includes MFA, and the Essentials suite and above include Adaptive MFA, which applies contextual and risk-based policies.
The Adaptive MFA page lists phishing-resistant factors including Okta FastPass, FIDO2 WebAuthn authenticators and smart cards such as PIV and CAC. Device posture checks can gather data from several sources, evaluate managed and unmanaged devices at sign-in, deny access when conditions fail and guide users to fix the problem themselves. Policies can ask for step-up authentication only for sensitive applications.
Okta ThreatInsight blocks suspicious IP addresses, and Okta re-checks device security state after a single sign-on session begins to reduce session hijacking risk. Okta reports about a 50% reduction in time spent responding to second factors because of fewer prompts. Okta also publishes an MFA deployment guide for planning a rollout.
Potential strengths
- Phishing-resistant factors include Okta FastPass, FIDO2 WebAuthn authenticators and PIV or CAC smart cards
- Okta ThreatInsight can block suspicious IP addresses automatically, and sessions are re-evaluated after sign-in
Trade-offs
- The basic MFA in Starter lacks the adaptive policies, which start at the $17 Essentials suite
- Annual billing and a $1,500 annual minimum rule out very small month-to-month purchases
- Product reference
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Billed annually; $1,500 annual contract minimum
- Source review: checked Oct 25, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Microsoft Entra multifactor authentication is part of Microsoft Entra ID, the identity service behind Microsoft 365 and Azure. Microsoft Learn describes several ways to obtain it. All tenants can turn on security defaults, a fixed set of rules that require MFA through the Microsoft Authenticator app. Office 365 plans add per-user MFA with text message and phone call options.
Entra ID P1 adds Conditional Access, which prompts for MFA under conditions the administrator defines and supports FIDO2, Windows Hello for Business and hardware tokens. P1 also adds fraud alerts, MFA reports, trusted IPs, custom phone greetings and MFA for on-premises applications. P2 adds risk-based Conditional Access, which adapts to user behaviour.
Microsoft recommends Conditional Access as the way to enforce MFA. The documentation also states that the first 50,000 monthly active users in Microsoft Entra External ID can use MFA and other P1 or P2 features for free.
Potential strengths
- Many Microsoft 365 plans already include P1 or P2, so MFA may need no new purchase
- Security defaults give every tenant a one-click baseline, including blocking legacy authentication protocols
Trade-offs
- Security defaults allow only the mobile authenticator app and offer no granular control over users or scenarios
- Fraud alerts, MFA reports, trusted IPs and MFA for on-premises applications need P1 or P2
- Product reference
- Product documentation
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Annual subscription, paid yearly, auto-renews
- Source review: checked Oct 25, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
RSA ID Plus is the cloud identity and access platform from RSA, the company behind SecurID. RSA positions it for highly regulated industries, with use cases including government, financial services and Microsoft environments.
The product page publishes five subscription plans. C1 covers cloud-only MFA with FIDO, biometrics and Windows QR code, plus SAML 2.0 and OIDC federation. E1 adds hybrid MFA across cloud and on-premises resources, with RADIUS, macOS and Linux integrations, third-party authenticators and offline authentication, plus 24x7 support. M1 targets Microsoft Entra ID customers and adds Help Desk Live Verify. E2 adds single sign-on, secure enrolment and adaptive access. E3 adds RSA Risk AI, RSA Mobile Lock and premium support.
RSA also offers an integration with Microsoft's External Authentication Methods, so ID Plus can serve as the MFA provider for Entra ID sign-ins. RSA publishes a full feature matrix for the plans.
Potential strengths
- A broad method list covers FIDO, biometrics, Windows QR code, third-party authenticators and offline authentication
- Help Desk Live Verify adds two-way identity checks to help desk calls, aimed at social engineering fraud
Trade-offs
- The $3 C1 plan is cloud-only and comes with basic 9x5 support
- Risk-based AI and RSA Mobile Lock sit in the E3 plan, which has no published price
- Product reference
- Product documentation
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Per user per month; billing cadence not stated on the product page
- Source review: checked Oct 25, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Yubico makes the YubiKey, a hardware security key that acts as a device-bound passkey. Unlike most products on this page, Yubico does not run the sign-in policy. Its keys are a factor that identity and MFA services accept, and the subscription page quotes Okta on the joint use of the two products.
The store lists several lines. The YubiKey 5 Series supports several protocols and passwordless sign-in. The Security Key Series is FIDO-only and lower in price. The FIPS 140-2 and FIPS 140-3 Series are validated for government and regulated organisations, and the YubiKey Bio Series adds fingerprint verification.
For larger deployments, YubiKey as a Service sells keys on a per-user subscription in Base, Advanced and Compliance tiers. Yubico states that the subscription includes enrolment and delivery services, global delivery, the option to upgrade keys as needs change and discounted replacement and backup keys for self-service account recovery.
Potential strengths
- Store prices are public per key and per tray, so hardware cost can be modelled exactly
- FIPS 140-3 validated models are available for government and regulated buyers
Trade-offs
- A YubiKey is an authenticator, not a policy engine, so it needs an identity or MFA service to enforce sign-in rules
- Subscription tiers have no published price and require a sales conversation
- Product reference
- Product documentation
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: One-time hardware purchase, or subscription through sales
- Source review: checked Oct 25, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
SafeNet Trusted Access (STA) is the cloud access management and authentication service from Thales. The product page describes it as a way to deploy several authentication journeys under one policy layer, so that each user group and application gets a suitable method.
Supported methods include high-assurance FIDO devices, push authentication, pattern-based authentication and one-time passwords. Thales also manufactures the authenticators, including the MobilePASS+ app, OATH and display-card OTP tokens, eToken PKI USB tokens, IDPrime smart cards and FIDO devices. STA provides single sign-on to cloud and enterprise applications and a single view of access events across the application estate.
The pricing page stresses an all-in-one licence with no separate charges for tokens or support, and an unlimited proof of concept with extra time, tokens and users. Thales cites a 2022 TechValidate survey in which 90% of surveyed IT organisations said deployment was easy.
Potential strengths
- Token and support costs sit inside the licence, which simplifies budgeting for hardware-heavy rollouts
- A free fallback token option and cloud RADIUS are included in the licence
Trade-offs
- No price figures are published, so cost comparison needs a quote
- Some customer satisfaction figures on the product page come from a 2022 survey and are not recent
- Product reference
- Product documentation
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Not recorded
- Source review: checked Oct 25, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Silverfort is an identity security platform built around coverage gaps in traditional MFA. Its Universal MFA page argues that most MFA products protect modern applications but miss legacy systems, command-line tools, OT systems and on-premises targets that cannot call an MFA service.
Silverfort extends MFA to Active Directory authentication flows, including Kerberos, NTLM and LDAP, through its patented Runtime Access Protection technology. The vendor states this needs no changes to servers or applications. Listed targets include homegrown and legacy applications, admin tools, file systems and databases, VPN, IT infrastructure, desktop login, RDP and SSH, SaaS applications, VDI and Citrix, and local Windows account logins.
Policies can combine static rules with risk signals about the user, device, behaviour and asset, drawn from Silverfort's posture management and threat detection modules. Silverfort can act as the only MFA product or sit alongside an existing one. Higher packages add non-human identity security, AI agent security, an authentication firewall, threat detection and privileged access security.
Potential strengths
- Can replace an existing MFA product or extend it to systems it does not reach
- Combines static rules with risk signals from its posture and threat detection modules to decide when to prompt
Trade-offs
- No price figures are published, and support upgrades are priced as a percentage of licence cost
- Module availability depends on environment type, and the order form defines what is included
- Product reference
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Quote-based; terms set in the order form
- Source review: checked Oct 25, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
HYPR sells passwordless, passkey-based MFA as part of its Identity Assurance platform. The product page describes replacing passwords and shared secrets with passkeys to stop credential stuffing, phishing, MFA prompt bombing and man-in-the-middle attacks. HYPR states the MFA is FIDO Certified end to end.
HYPR Authenticate includes several components. An authenticator app handles sign-in across devices, including offline. A desktop MFA client covers Windows, macOS, Linux and virtual desktops, including shared workstations. A passwordless SSO layer works with one or more identity providers. A passwordless SDK embeds passkeys in custom apps. The HYPR Control Center manages enrolment, policies, analytics and audit logs.
The wider platform adds adaptive risk mitigation and automated identity verification across onboarding and account recovery. HYPR cites a Forrester Total Economic Impact study that reported a 324% return on investment for HYPR customers, a vendor-commissioned figure.
Potential strengths
- Works with existing identity providers and SSO tools rather than requiring a directory change
- Includes a passwordless SDK and FIDO2 APIs for adding passkeys to custom web and mobile applications
Trade-offs
- Desktop, VPN and VDI coverage starts at the $6 Plus plan rather than the $3 entry plan
- Customer-facing deployments have no published price
- Product reference
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Per user per month; billing cadence not stated on the pricing page
- Source review: checked Oct 25, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Rublon is a dedicated MFA product that adds a second factor to web, cloud and on-premises applications, VPNs, servers and admin tools. The product page highlights Active Directory and other LDAP directories, with MFA for Remote Desktop Services, Outlook Web App, Office 365 and cloud applications.
Users approve sign-ins through push notifications in the Rublon Authenticator app or use TOTP passcodes, FIDO security keys, QR codes, email links or SMS passcodes. Administrators manage applications, users and enrolment in the Rublon Admin Console. Enrolment can be automatic, manual or approval-based, and users can self-enrol. Administrators can also restrict which methods are allowed and review authentication logs.
Rublon states that its MFA supports PCI DSS compliance and helps with ISO/IEC 27001, NYDFS and NAIC requirements. The pricing page notes that a trial converts to the free single-user plan when it expires.
Potential strengths
- Low published list prices with no feature gating between Business and Enterprise
- Methods include mobile push, TOTP passcodes, FIDO security keys, QR codes, email links and SMS
Trade-offs
- SMS and phone-call delivery is charged separately through phone credits
- The free plan covers only one user, so it suits testing rather than a small team
- Product reference
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Per user per month list price; multi-year discounts; Enterprise on custom contract
- Source review: checked Oct 25, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
JumpCloud is a cloud directory and device management platform that includes MFA among its identity features. The MFA page describes securing access to applications, devices, networks and other resources, including administrator access to the JumpCloud Admin Portal.
Users can authenticate with JumpCloud Protect, a free authenticator app, or a third-party provider. Methods include push, time-based one-time passwords, JumpCloud Go, hardware keys, biometrics and certificates. Contextual and risk-based conditional access policies can adjust MFA enforcement by situation. Administrators turn on MFA in the Admin Portal, and users can self-enrol their own devices.
The pricing page offers both packages and a la carte items. MFA, cloud directory, SSO, cloud LDAP, cloud RADIUS and conditional access are each $3 per user a month on annual billing. That lets a buyer start with MFA alone and add directory or device features later. Packages bundle these with device management and password management.
Potential strengths
- Monthly billing is available, which suits teams that do not want an annual commitment
- Methods include push and TOTP through the free JumpCloud Protect app, hardware keys, biometrics, certificates and JumpCloud Go
Trade-offs
- Conditional access is a separate $3 a la carte item, and passwordless JumpCloud Go is $5
- Buyers who only need MFA pay for a directory-centred product built for wider IT management
- Product reference
- Pricing source
- Billing terms: Per user per month, billed annually or monthly at a higher rate
- Source review: checked Oct 25, 2026
- Vendor confirmation: not confirmed
Frequently asked questions
What is MFA software?
MFA software requires users to prove their identity with at least two factors before they gain access, typically something they know, such as a password, plus something they have, such as a phone or security key, or something they are, such as a fingerprint. It applies those checks to applications, VPNs, desktops and servers under policies set by administrators and keeps a log of sign-in attempts.
How much does MFA software cost?
As of October 2026, published prices on this page range from $2 to $17 per user a month. Rublon Business lists at $2, Cisco Duo Essentials and HYPR Identity Assurance Access at $3, JumpCloud MFA a la carte at $3 billed annually, RSA ID Plus from $3, Microsoft Entra ID P1 at $7 and Okta's Essentials suite with Adaptive MFA at $17. Duo and Rublon have free tiers for small use. Thales and Silverfort did not publish figures, and Yubico prices hardware keys from $29 each.
Is MFA included with Microsoft 365?
Yes, at a basic level. Microsoft Learn states that every Microsoft Entra tenant can turn on security defaults, which require MFA through the Microsoft Authenticator app. Granular control through Conditional Access needs Entra ID P1, which Microsoft 365 Business Premium and E3 include. Risk-based Conditional Access needs P2, included in E5.
What is phishing-resistant MFA?
Phishing-resistant MFA uses factors that an attacker cannot capture and replay on a fake site, such as FIDO2 passkeys, hardware security keys and PIV or CAC smart cards. The credential is tied to the genuine website or device, so a stolen code or approved push cannot be reused. SMS codes and simple push approvals are not phishing-resistant. Every vendor on this page supports at least one phishing-resistant method.
Does a business need a separate MFA product if it already has an identity provider?
Not always. Okta and Microsoft Entra ID include MFA, and JumpCloud includes it in its directory platform. A separate product is useful when the identity provider cannot reach certain systems, such as legacy applications, command-line tools, RADIUS-based VPNs or offline desktops, or when an organisation runs several directories. Silverfort, RSA ID Plus, Duo and HYPR all document deployments alongside an existing directory.
Which MFA software covers legacy and on-premises systems?
Silverfort extends MFA to Active Directory protocols, command-line tools, RDP, SSH, OT systems and local Windows logins without changing the target systems. RSA ID Plus documents RADIUS, macOS, Linux and offline authentication from its E1 plan. Duo lists legacy Active Directory resources, VPNs and offline devices. Rublon covers Remote Desktop Services and LDAP directories, and Thales includes cloud RADIUS in its licence.
Are hardware security keys needed for MFA?
No, but they are one of the strongest options. Most products on this page accept FIDO2 security keys such as Yubico's YubiKey alongside phone-based methods. Hardware keys suit administrators, high-risk users and staff who cannot use a personal phone. Yubico lists keys from $29, the YubiKey 5 NFC at $58, and a subscription model for larger fleets.
How were these MFA products selected and checked?
The ten products are real vendors with live product pages that publicly describe MFA for workforce access. Pricing, plan contents and features come from each vendor's own pricing, product and documentation pages, fetched in October 2026. StatWharf did not test the products hands-on, and no vendor confirmed its entry. Order on the page does not indicate quality or preference.
Suggest a vendor or correction
Send factual corrections to editorial@statwharf.com. Corrections are free. For inclusion or placement enquiries, contact partnerships.
First published October 2026. Page update dates reflect editorial changes, not a fresh check of every vendor.